Pitching tents and problematic pussy cats.

Tonight is my first proper night.  The first time I will be all alone in the wild*.

I assumed that putting up my tent would be super easy and I wouldn’t have any problems and life would be like a fun movie. Instead, this tent is shit, I am shit at putting up tents and the ground here is also shit. Foolishly I also thought that the pegs would just slide into the ground like they do in Electric Picnic. This did not happen. After spending quite a while stamping on the pegs I decided it would be better to source an English speaker and ask to borrow a hammer. This was easy, things were looking up and I felt pretty proud of myself.

After a nutritious lunch of a bag of crisps and a can of ice tea I started to walk towards the town of Tarifa along the beach. The campsite I am staying on for this weekend is 6km outside of the town but a bus runs every thirty minutes throughout the day. I didn’t make it the whole way into the town because of a very very deep river that runs across the beach. The beach that runs along this bay has loads of kite surfing schools along it and funky beach bars.

* The wild is actually a very nice campsite in Tarifa with lots of feline friends, even if they do try to claw through my tent.

Leave a Reply

