Sharing is caring.

Everyone who I meet who has stayed in hostels always says the same thing, you meet the weirdest people in hostels.

After last night, I now realise that Gabby and I are those weirdos. We over share, are over emotional and over enthusiastic.

Granada babies

Two Kiwis came to stay in my room here in Madrid and within ten minutes I had already told them far more than they ever wanted to know. Luckily this didn’t scare them off and the agreed to come for cans with us.

After a sniff of alcohol things just get worse, we spent a long time letting everyone know how we felt about saving the NHS and repealing the eighth. After the ball got rolling we just couldn’t shut up. Gabbs let everyone know about the time she woke up a Portuguese town by setting off a house alarm trying to leave some guys house, while I shared my weakness for tour guides on a power trip.

Post pub crawl pity

For us, it’s normal and natural to share every dirty and disastrous detail of our messy lives. Some people this freaks them out and maybe we come on to strong, I think this is why I am often on the receiving end of eye rolling and lots of side eye. Sometimes this can hurt my feelings, but it’s also natural I’m definitely not everyone’s cup of tea.

Maybe one day we’ll learn to use our filters but for now, I think I’ll continue sharing as honestly as I can.

Leave a Reply

